Being back to tranquility is an unpleasant feeling.

I mean, of course, I enjoy resting and having the time to settle down and to breath for a while but knowing what’s going on in the other places I belong to is a knife straight in the heart. I can’t stop thinking about everyone and I can’t help but to keep trying to help them from here.

Then the last couple of weeks has been busy setting up new tools to gather funds and money to help “my friends” still stacked all over the place.

I couldn’t find that many ways …

  • One is to share the experience and to run workshop and conferences about the situation in high school, college and university. It’s something I started doing more and more, knowing that sharing migrants stories and to enable students to help and to connect with them is one of the most important thing.
  • The second is about online fundraising and I then, start setting up a way for people to sustain the work on a monthly basis using the Patreon platform (as you can see on the orange button).FireShot Capture 1 - Exile 2.0 – منفى – Documentary On Migra_ - https___felixbrassier.wordpress.com_
  • The third option might be the less practical but the most efficient: fundraising events.

 

 

This last option is not the easiest one.

 

From planning the evening’ performances, calling the venue, buying the food, cooking the meals till finally running the event, you don’t have that much space … It takes a lot of time, energy and commitment … things that I’d rather keep for the people in need. But, hey … you can’t be everywhere at the same time and you’ve to work things out with what you’ve got.

So I decided to create and to run the first physical fundraising event related to the Exile 2.0 project to specifically help the boys from the Takadoum neighborhood in Rabat, Morocco … -> https://www.gofundme.com/23kkwwk

17758946_120332000130644680_1875548864_o

Let’s be honest, I’m everything but comfortable with this …

But I’m lucky enough to be surrounded by friends who gave me a hand.

So far, the D-day, I was all but ready, and even if my fellows were confident, I wasn’t.

wp-1492974549564.

I bought the food at the last minute before going to prepare the couscous, which would have been impossible without the help of Nadira and Fabrice who shown up to help just like a miracle.

 

FireShot Capture 4 - (17) YouTube - https___www

FireShot Capture 9 - (17) YouTube - https___www

Steph, Tonio and Miloun, artists poets and musicians, helped me to run the “show” till the documentary screening, singing, playing music and reading poetry to the public while I was trying to fix the Internet connexion …

FireShot Capture 6 - (17) YouTube - https___www

FireShot Capture 7 - (17) YouTube - https___www

FireShot Capture 8 - (17) YouTube - https___www

 

Well, I never expected we would get the entire place packed with people and just enough food to serve them.

 

And It was such a great thing to realize that again, here, people were listening and willing to help.

wp-1492974588894.

After an exhausting 5-hours event, we all were happy with the result. And even if you always need more money to carry the work, I can’t stop thinking about the boys from Takadoum, who’ll soon receive a nice gift thanks to all the good people from Ganges.  

Leave a Reply

