After roughly 8 months on the roads through the different countries related to the migration crisis, I finally end up going back to France. Being back to the safety and the “civilization” as we used to see it…
But something changed, and I wasn’t really the same than I was before.

First, I had to go back because of conferences and workshops I needed to run in High Schools around Valence in the Drome region. I had never though I was about to tell my story and to talk about what I was doing this way. Basically, it wasn’t the goal of my project and I was more inclined to DO things instead of talking about, but I also realized it was an important thing to do specifically with students who were in the age of thinking by themselves and building the world of tomorrow.

20160407_200416
And to interact with them made me realized how much they all wanted to help but how lost they were regarding the practical ways to actually do it (exactly like me when I first leave to start the project). I was amazed by the faith they had in the future, but at the meantime the sadness and the weakness they were feeling regarding their own capacity to make a change.

20160407_215800

20160407_201326With Elodie, Cecile and few other good and active people of the region, we ran a couple of these conferences to raise awareness across the students and it was so successful that we start building a long term collaboration to continue to have a link with the school and to run this interaction for the year to come.
And I’m thankful to them, as they all helped me realized that, more than experiencing the crisis in the field and making relevant things on the ground, it was also crucial to share these experiences with the ones that, tomorrow, would be the citizen of the world.

Leave a Reply

